It Is Important to Pay Attention to the Signs Appearing Before You

September 25, 2012

Day 3

I should have known.  Wiley knew. I didn’t believe him.  He was laying on the sofa with his paws together, head down.  Dad looked at him and said, “The dog is praying.  What’s the matter, Doggie?”  I guess I should have done the same.

Today we began the day “out of order.”  Our usual routine has been that Dad showers at night, Craig is the first up and in the shower, and I fix breakfast, clean up and then shower.  We were leaving between 9:30 and 10:00, which was deemed to be “too late.”  I, of course, take the longest time to get ready in the morning.  So, the new plan was for me to shower first, then Craig, and then Dad would get up and do what he needed to.  I think the plan would have worked, but instead of getting up at 6:00, I (and Craig) slept until 7:00.  I forgot to pack the eggs, so the pancake and egg breakfast that I had promised, didn’t happen.  We had toast and fruit.  I made the requisite lattes, and coffee that was “too weak” for Craig and too strong for Dad.  With all this we still managed to leave at 9:15.  No one was happy.  Today is a shorter drive day for Craig, 380 miles.

The beloved Espresso machine

One of the highlights of the day was the gas fill-up at the Pilot station in Evanston, WY for $3.59 per gallon.  Again, beautiful wide open spaces to travel through.  Windmill farms, antelope, and a whole lot of nothing.

Antelope playing (actually running)

Internet has been very slooooow at the rv parks.  Posting blogs is almost impossible, and before leaving Salem, I changed my life (for the better, I might add) and bought an iPhone.  I love it, but…….I haven’t established an iTunes account, so I don’t have any apps, such as “Cheep Gas” or RV Park Finder.  In other words, I’m not so helpful to the driver. (Craig)  I have begged to stop at a McDonalds for their free WiFi, but that just doesn’t seem to happen.  We stopped at Little America, WY, for the 50 cent ice cream cones, and remarkably, they had free internet.  I attempted to establish my iTunes account and sync my iPhone and Mac.  What. A. Mess.  My photos became “lost” (I did find them, but it will take me awhile to get them into iPhoto)  Crap.

I digress…other than the lack of decent internet, the trip is going along well, the scenery is beautiful.  It is so open and…………. un-inhabitated.

Tonight we are staying in Cheyenne, WY at the Terry Bison Resort RV Park.  It is, as is most everything in Wyoming, in the middle of nowhere.  The campground is okay, and it looks like there are a lot of other things available such as, a large western-type gift store, a train ride around the bison ranch, old-time photos, fishing…….the list goes on and on.  We got in late and will be leaving early tomorrow, so other than going into the gift store to pay for our site, we probably won’t be partaking of any of the “special events” that they have to offer.

In a nutshell, we are all tired.  It is a long drive everyday with stops for gas.  We are on a mission to get to Paola, KS before the weekend.  We will continue on.  I have been promised a grocery stop tomorrow morning.  I wonder if Pilot Gas sells eggs?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

