Somebody Open Up the Window and Let Me Catch My Breath

Trip 2 – Day 20

Monday, January 28, 2013

Dad is (or should be) thrilled.  FOY’s cafe serves breakfast EVERY DAY, and so far, he has enjoyed it EVERY DAY, including today.  I am not an early starter.  We all know this.  I can do the night shift, but mornings are not my best time.  So, the boys leave the Hag, and I get myself together.  By the time they are back I am either eating my own breakfast or just finishing.  Again, today was no exception.

History of the Fountain of Youth

History of the Fountain of Youth

The boys at the Fountain of Youth

The boys at the Fountain of Youth

It was somewhat of a surprise to me, but today was also laundry day for this group.  I thought I had “fixed” things so that laundry day would NOT occur every 4 days or less, but alas, I had not.  Dad was adamant that we needed to get over to the laundry room early.  We were there before 9:00, as was every other person in the park.  We waited about 15 minutes for a washer to become available, and when the clothes were washed, we waited with wet clothes, about the same amount of time for a dryer.  We walked home with our clean clothes sometime just before noon.   When I asked Dad why we needed to wash clothes so often, he said, “Well, this is about how often I do them at home.”  I reminded him that we were on “vacation,” not at home.  His response, “Oh, I guess you have something better to do?”  Well, yes, as a matter of fact, I do.  Not doing laundry every 4 days would be preferable.

I decided to go to “Show and Tell,” one of the sewing/craft type groups at FOY.  They met from 1:30 to 3:00 in a large meeting room at the far end of the park.

The view of the Salton Sea, from the top of the campground

The view of the Salton Sea, from the top of the campground

It was pretty much a business-type meeting with half the discussion regarding the upcoming craft fair, and the last half a sharing of the projects that took place during classes that are held in the sewing & craft room in the park.  I’m not going to be here long enough to participate, so I am still thinking that I will have my own sewing group……with myself.  Although, there is a woman who will teach tatting, and my Grandma was a tatter.  I would love to learn…….but this may not be the time.

I came home after the group and made split pea soup.  The sky had clouded up and the temperature dropped into the low 60’s.  Definitely soup weather, for this area.

Golf cart of the day

Golf cart of the day

Bougainvillea growing just down the street from our site

Bougainvillea growing just down the street from our site

Today’s weather:  Cooler in the morning, some clouds, and some sun

Daytime temperature:  Maybe 65 degrees

Nighttime temperature:  38 degrees

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

