Pancake Breakfast and the Blessed Laundry

Trip 2 – Day 25

Saturday, February 2, 2013

This park has a very active group of men who pitch horseshoes.  I guess this happens everyday for most of the morning.  On the first Saturday of the month, they put on a pancake breakfast.  We do not miss these things.  We had a wonderful breakfast of pancakes, eggs, ham, coffee and orange juice.  The added treat for us was being joined by our friend Fred, his daughter, Melody, and grandson, Brennan.  We feasted and talked and talked, leaving minutes before the 10:00 end of breakfast so as not to have to be part of the clean-up and putting away of the chairs.

The cooks working their magic with the food

The cooks working their magic with the food

We walked, but others came via bicycle, golf cart, ATV, and car

We walked, but others came via bicycle, golf cart, ATV, and car

The boys decided to go to Niland for the “Tomato Festival.”  Having just renewed my Internet for the days ahead, I chose to stay with Wiley, in the Hag, at FOY.  I had read that there were no actual tomatoes at the festival.  It dated back to the time when tomatoes were grown in this area; now they come from Mexico, but the town enjoyed celebrating, so they decided to continue the festival sans tomatoes.  It just seemed that I could pass it up, so I did.

After catching up on my writing, I started the task of the day, that being the laundry.  Before the boys left, I mentioned that I was going to take care of the dirty clothes, and to get them out.  Craig complied, and Dad told me that his were in the usual spot, in the closet in a bag.  They left, I immersed myself in my thoughts, time passed, and realized that I needed to switch gears and head to the laundry with my laptop, in an attempt to multi-task.  I gathered the clothes, soap, etc. and off I went.  It was not until I was taking things out of the dryer and folding them up, that I realized I had forgotten Dad’s clothes.  So…..I went back to the Hag, rounded up Dad’s clothes, and a few others that I failed to take the first time, and did yet another load of laundry.  And, that was the afternoon.

Craig and I took Wiley for a walk, and then it was time for dinner.

Craig and Wiley

Craig and Wiley

A shrine on the trail.  This is a place of peace for many of the folks who come here

A shrine on the trail. This is a place of peace for many of the folks who come here

The other part of the shrine

The other part of the shrine

For dinner, we had marinated flat steak or carne asada that I bought yesterday at Cardenas Market.

Dinner -- Carne asada, beans, peppers, a tortilla, chips, and guacamole

Dinner — Carne asada, beans, peppers, a tortilla, chips, and guacamole

Together with some (refried) beans and grilled peppers, it was a feast.  Even Dad enjoyed the meat, although he did mention that it was a little tough, which it was.  This can be a tough crowd to please at dinnertime.

Cactus

Cactus

Dad and Craig admiring a DeSoto.  It was parked by the office

Dad and Craig admiring a DeSoto. It was parked by the office

Today’s weather:  Warm – nice and warm

Daytime temperature:  78 degrees

Nighttime temperature:  58 degrees

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

