“Shopping”

Trip 2 – Day 32

Saturday, February 9, 2013

We have been taking a slower approach to life here at FOY, and today was no exception.  The boys went to the café for breakfast; I got ready for the day and caught up on a few things.

Pretty cool fish out of water

Pretty cool fish out of water

As the morning progressed, we took Wiley for his mid-morning stroll.

Cosmos in bloom.....in February!

Cosmos in bloom…..in February!

To our surprise, we came across, not one, but two “garage sales” here in the park.  At the first one, I found a nice collection of some sewing things, which Craig, the negotiator, bargained for.  This sort of thing is not my forte, and the woman who was selling her wares, was a tough cookie.  In the end, I think both she and I felt like we had gotten a good deal.  We weren’t able to shop the next “sale” as it was lunchtime for the proprietor.

A garage sale in the park.  Unfortunately, we arrived during their lunch hour.

A garage sale in the park. Unfortunately, we arrived during their lunch hour.

There are so many interesting things to see in this park.

These little signs are very popular here

These little signs are very popular here

One of the many interesting things in the park

One of the many interesting things in the park

Before we left, my wonderful son suggested that I shove a large Rubbermaid tote under the Hag.  His idea was that I would pick up random “found things,” put them in the tote, and bring them back home for future projects.  To me, this sounded like a great idea.  We would be traveling and there should be numerous opportunities to find cast-off things.  Well, Son, this park is so clean.  Nothing is left lying around, and this sign greets you at the dumpster:

FOY garbage can with warning regarding dumpster diving

FOY garbage can with warning regarding dumpster diving

I’m afraid that the only things I have found, to date, are pinecones.  They are pretty cool, but not quite what we were both hoping for.  Do not abandon hope; I will continue the search.

We spent the afternoon at the pool, Dad on a chaise lounge, Craig and I moving back and forth between the various spas and the pool.  I like to spend a little time in the Lobster Pot on the chance that the mineral water does provide healing and youthful properties, which I am fairly certain it does.

Friday’s trip to the farmer’s market netted us some asparagus, which I cooked up for dinner and served along with a little (turkey) meatloaf, potatoes, and a salad with fresh beets.

Dinner

Dinner

The rest of the evening was spent with me doing hand sewing, and some folk napping while watching TV.  Those crazy moonshiners and pawn shop owners……

Cool cactus of the day

Cool cactus of the day

Today’s Weather:  Sunny but not as warm

Daytime temperature:  In the mid-60’s

Nighttime temperature:  In the high 30’s

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

