What A Great Day

Trip 2 – Day 34

Monday, February 11, 2012

A couple of weeks ago, I went to the “Show and Tell” meeting of the sewists and crafters at FOY.  One of the items that was shared was a needle felting project.  I watched intently as the teacher of the class talked about what she was doing.  Our paths crossed numerous times and I finally introduced myself and asked if I could see her work.  She agreed and I met up with her this morning.  Let me just add, I have wanted to needle felt for a LONG TIME.

I spent a wonderful hour talking with Renata and getting to see her work.  She loaned me a needle, some wool, a piece of rigid insulation and some roving and told me to, as we say, “go play.”  So. Much. Fun.  I’m thinking that I have a new craft.

Having fun "playing" with needle felting

Having fun “playing” with needle felting

When I got back to the Hag, we decided that it was time to go to town.  Dad wanted to go to the bank.  We headed to Brawley, but ended up in El Centro to do our errands.  El Centro means Cardenas Market.  So…. I got to go to my favorite Mexican grocery, and bought some marinated chicken, some chips, tamales, fresh queso fresco, and a piece of squash.  (and a plain chicken breast for Dad)

Dinner, that would be, marinated grilled chicken, rice, and a sope with beans, queso fresca, guacamole, and salsa

Dinner.  That would be, marinated grilled chicken, rice, and a sope with beans, queso fresca, guacamole, and salsa, and a Tecate Michelada (Mexican) beer

When we got home, I grilled up the chicken, fried a couple of sopes, baked the squash, and it was dinner.  Lovely.  The squash needed a LONG bake, so we ate it for dessert with butter and brown sugar.

Squash.....I wish I knew the variety

Squash…..I wish I knew the variety

I thought it was a little stringy and watery, so will make bread or muffins with the remainder.  I should add, in case anyone was wondering, I do LOVE to cook, and cooking with regional foods is really a treat.

The boys surveying the desert

The boys surveying the desert

Today’s weather:  Sunny, warm, and quickly cooling at sundown

Daytime temperature:  In the upper 60’s

Nighttime temperature:  In the 30’s

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

