It’s Friday

Trip 2 – Day 45

Friday, February 22, 2013

If I haven’t mentioned it, we are getting ready to leave FOY.  We have been here a month, and things await us back at the farm.  We are in the countdown to set sail for home.  So, today is our last Farmer’s Market.  I have used up a lot of the things I had in the refrigerator and freezer, so this was an important shopping trip.  I think I have a beef roast in the freezer, which I will cook up on Sunday, so from now until then we will be eating a lot of vegetables.  This is okay with Craig and I, but Dad is not such a fan of this style of eating.  I will just say, it’s healthy, and WinCo awaits me, in Bakersfield, on Monday.

Farmer's Market

Farmer’s Market

This man was serenading next to the pools early this morning.  (I think he is the keyboard player from bingo)

This man was serenading next to the pools early this morning. (I think he is the keyboard player from bingo)

There is a lot of excitement here at FOY.  Tomorrow is the big “Parade.”  It is a BIG DEAL.  Golf carts are decorated, candy is thrown, folks make BIG preparations.  The roads were not just watered-down, the parade route was swept, and swept, and swept some more by a small street sweeper.

Water truck sprinkling down the roads

Water truck sprinkling down the roads

The parade will go down our street.  The people in the permanent site across from us have invited everyone over for breakfast and champagne at 9:00.  (the parade starts at 10:00 and should arrive on our street by 10:30.)  We will be going, and we will be sitting across the street from our site, with the neighbors. (the chairs are already lined up)  I have been told that we need to sit on their side of the street to get candy.  Evidently, we will be dining with women whose husbands will be in the parade and throwing candy…….apparently, to this side of the street.  We’ll just follow directions.

I spent a good part of the morning finishing up my zipper hearts.  I think they are kind-of fun.  I like the hearts made with the metal-teethed zippers the best.  They are easier to work with, as the fabric is cotton.   The zippers with the plastic teeth are made with a polyester blend fabric and are a little unwieldy to work with.

Zipper hearts.  I added some embroidery work to the grey heart.

Zipper hearts. I added some embroidery work to the grey heart.

We spent the afternoon at the pool.  Craig and I rotated between the 3 spas and the actual swimming pool.  Dad sat on a lounge chair and enjoyed the warm sun.  Such a treat for February.

For you, Son -- a solar-powered bicycle.  (yes, it's a recumbent......sorry)

For you, Son — a solar-powered bicycle. (yes, it’s a recumbent……sorry)

Today’s weather:  Sunny and beginning to warm up

Daytime temperature:  70 degrees

Nighttime temperature:  In the low 40’s

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

