Heading North

Trip 2 – Day 49

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Thankfully, today was an uneventful day.  We got up, ate, and hit the road around 9:00 with our large bag of oranges making this yet another RV park we want to come back to, especially during orange picking season.  The drive today took us through miles and miles of orchards.  For the most part, it looked like almond trees, and they were in bloom.  Beautiful pale pink to white flowers; we are thinking that for us, spring is just around the corner……maybe.

Orchards

Orchards

Tonight, we stayed at the KOA in Sacramento.  We stayed here last fall after our side trip to Hearst Castle.  Dad likes it, as there is a food cart in the park that will take your order over the phone, and deliver food to your rig.  His breakfast can be cooked to order.

We were desperately in need of a trip to the grocery.  The bread was gone, as was the ice cream, and windmill cookies.  As luck would have it, the closest grocery store was a Raley’s.  As far as I can tell, this chain seems to be a lot like our Roth’s at home.  They had EVERYTHING we needed and quite a few things we wanted.

My new shopping bag.  Thinking of you, Justin!

My new shopping bag. Thinking of you, Justin!

The catastrophe of the day occurred when I attempted to extract the toaster from the upper cupboard.  Knowing that in this rig are folks that like the occasional martini, margarita, champagne, glass of wine, bloody mary, or even straight tomato juice, I packed the appropriate stemware.  Most of them are made of glass, not plastic.  One of the highball glasses jumped out with the toaster.  What.  A.  Mess.  Tiny shards and big pieces of glass were EVERYWHERE, including, in the plate of chicken I had set on the table for dinner.  Not wanting to serve broken glass with dinner, the chicken went into the garbage, and I opted for plan B.  We had a nice frittata with sautéed onions and red pepper, leftover corn, and some cheddar cheese.  Dad, said it was, “very good.”  Even if he just said it because he knew that I was hopping mad over having such a terrible mess to contend with, it was still nice.  I did promise him that I wouldn’t serve this on a regular basis.

And then, it was the early evening naptime.  The boys passed out in front of the TV, and I proceeded to embark on my next task.  With all the oranges, and some fresh lemon juice in the freezer, I was itching to make some orange marmalade freezer jam.

Wiley, wondering what I'm going to do with my big bag of oranges

Wiley, wondering what I’m going to do with my big bag of oranges

Craig regained consciousness about the time I was running things through the Magic Bullet Blender.  He looked at the orange colored concoction and said, “You’re making smoothies at this time of night?”  As I often do in these situations, I suggested that he not ask any more questions, as he probably didn’t want to know what I was doing.  It had been a long and stressful day of driving. (I am serious about this)  We had a head wind and then a sideways wind that made opening the door of the Hag nearly impossible.  I am sure he was tired.  But, as sometimes happens, I needed to expel a little excess energy.

Prep work.  Peeling or zesting the oranges

Prep work. Peeling or zesting the oranges

Love that Magic Bullet.  It makes everything better!

Love that Magic Bullet. It makes everything better!

Cooking the marmalade

Cooking the marmalade

I find that any type of food preservation, and especially making jam or jelly, to be very relaxing.  There is something about the process of gently handling the fruit, washing, peeling, cutting, and cooking it, to savor at a later time, is comforting.  I come from a long line of women who have done this.  My children have told me that the smell of canning makes them know they are home.  I cooked up comfort right in the middle of a campground in Sacramento.  And, it was good.

The finished product!

The finished product!

Today’s weather:  Sunny, crazy windy, and not quite as warm

Daytime temperature:  In the low 60’s

Nighttime temperature:  In the mid-40’s

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

