Things We Really Like and Some That We Don’t

Friday, March 6, 2015

As we approach of day of departure, I need to share some of the things we liked and some that were not so special. I’ll start with the bad and move to the good. I think it’s always nice to end on a good note.

 

First, there are some crabby folks. Not many, but at least one.

 

I guess she doesn't want folks cutting the corner.  Or dogs relieving themselves at the corner.  Wiley's ability to read isn't all that good.  "No" looks the same as "Go right here."  I think it hurts his feelings.

I guess she doesn’t want folks cutting the corner. Or dogs relieving themselves at the corner. Wiley’s ability to read isn’t all that good. “No” looks the same as “Go right here.” I think it hurts his feelings.

 

When, exactly, was the last time you have seen this?  "Sambo" fishing on a bench sans fishing pole.  I am equally amazed and horrified each time I walk by this particular site.  (By the way, this is in the same site.)

When, exactly, was the last time you have seen this? “Sambo” fishing on a bench sans fishing pole. I am equally amazed and horrified each time I walk by this particular site. (By the way, this is in the same site as the photo above.)

Then there are things like this. They make everyone take notice.

Not quite sure what this is.....beetle or cockroach?

Not quite sure what this is…..beetle or cockroach?

 

Quite self-explanatory.

Quite self-explanatory.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And then there’s chores.

 

Laundry.  No one likes doing it.  It makes me crabby.

Laundry. No one likes doing it. It makes me crabby.

But the good outweighs the bad.

We like these food items. A Lot.

Donuts from Heaven.  (actually Calipatria)  Warm buttermilk bars with chocolate icing?  They simply melt in your mouth.

Donuts from Heaven. (actually Calipatria) Warm buttermilk bars with chocolate icing? They simply melt in your mouth.

This stuff is good.  Really, really good.

This stuff is good. Really, really good.

But, I did find that I could make this (above) by combining these two:

Powdered espresso powder + Chocolate Almond "milk"

Powdered espresso powder + Chocolate Almond “milk”

Avocados and oranges.  I know I ate avocado EVERY DAY, and oranges were about the same.

Avocados and oranges. I know I ate avocado EVERY DAY, and about as frequently for the oranges.

In-N-Out Burger and fries.  Yes, it's good.  Very.  Good.  We did manage to get our fill.

In-N-Out Burger and fries. Yes, it’s good. Very. Good. We did manage to get our fill.

Mexican candy.

Mexican candy.

And then there are the flowers.  And the cactus.

Cactus flowers.

Cactus flowers.

Up close

Up close

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cactus.

Cactus.

In my opinion, this is the best cactus specimen in the park.

In my opinion, this is the best cactus specimen in the park.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Everyone knows I love Yogi.

Wonderful, welcoming Yogi Bear!

Wonderful, welcoming Yogi Bear!

And then there are the random things.

Just like in "Blazing Saddles," we have our own portable stop light on Hwy. 111.  In all fairness, it is up for the bridge construction, but maybe they got the idea after watching the movie?

Along the lines of “Blazing Saddles,” we have our own portable stop light on Hwy. 111. In all fairness, it is up for the bridge construction, but maybe they got the idea after watching the movie?

I like this bench.  It's a good place to talk on the phone, or sit.

I like this bench. It’s a good place to talk on the phone, or sit.

This is the view, if you stand by (or on) the bench.

This is the view, if you stand by (or on) the bench.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The classic Spartan trailer.  It's very cool.

The classic Spartan trailer. It’s very cool.

The annual fish fry at the Bombay Beach American Legion.  Everybody loves the fish fry.

The annual fish fry at the Bombay Beach American Legion. Everybody loves the fish fry apparently, even the horses.

The food line at the Fish Fry.

The food line at the Fish Fry.

And, of course I couldn’t forget my little traveling companion:

My backseat traveling companion and I.  We see everything that's fit to see......mostly......unless he stands up and blocks my view.

My backseat traveling companion and I. We see everything that’s fit to see……mostly……unless he stands up and blocks my view.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things We Really Like and Some That We Don’t

  1. Looks like you’re homeward bound soon. Once again we’ve thorougly enjoyed reading about your “Driving the Daisies” adventures. In South Australia we have an Iced Coffee everyone loves so we’ll have to introduce you to it one day when you visit “down under”!! 🙂 Safe travelling and take care.

Leave a Reply

