Sweet Wiley

Monday, March 16, 2015

IMG_3634IMG_3794

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It is the first premise of life: Everything that lives must, one day, die.

This day of death is not a day we ever anticipate, or are prepared for. Even when we know the end can be seen on the horizon, that day still strikes with a blow that overwhelms our fragile being. This day was Wiley’s last.

He woke up in the early morning, restless and coughing, and coughing, and coughing. I took him out, he did his business, and went back to bed, shivering. As per our usual routine, I covered him up and kissed his nose. By morning his breathing was shallow and quick. Within 10 minutes of our call to the vet, he was in the car and being seen by Jay, our beloved veterinarian. X-rays confirmed that the tumor on his heart had grown at an alarming rate and collapsed a lung. We had known that his tumor might become an issue long before the congestive heart failure. Our best friend was sad, scared, and suffering. There were no comfort measures to be taken. With heavy hearts, we let him go.

Wiley was the dog that taught us the true love one can have for a wonderful friend. His sweet, gentle spirit touched us to our core. I miss him. We all miss him. His time with us…..exactly 3 years and one month, was much too short. Although we had wished for his end to be swift and without the lingering pain that is heart disease, we had never anticipated this. Sometimes, it is the very life of life that becomes almost too much to bear. So, for now, in our grief, some of us will prune trees, and some will clean, and some will tend to the raspberry patch, but all of us will dwell in this place of sorrow for the tremendous loss of the gift of joy, that sweet Wiley brought to this family. As I told a friend, as I excused myself out of a meeting today, “I just need to stay home and cry for awhile.”

Peace to you, and blessings and safe passage to our Sweet Wiley, the best dog ever.

IMG_3472IMG_4461

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sweet Wiley

  1. Nanci says:

    Oh Jan, I’m so so sorry. Wiley was a well traveled and very loved family member and I know how heartbreaking. Sending my love dear friend. I’m here when you need an ear. Much love, endless virtual hugs.

  2. Angie says:

    I am so sorry. I never got to meet Wiley, but through your beautiful writing I felt like I did. My heart hurts for all of you and your loss.

  3. winky colm says:

    Jan, I am glad that Wiley got one last trip to the desert with y’all. God bless him. so sorry. Winky

  4. Beth Overmyer says:

    I am So sorry for your loss. He was a very gentle soul that will be missed much.

  5. Cherri & Greg says:

    Jan and Craig and Dave – so sorry that your beloved Wiley has gone – but hopefully to green pastures to run and sniff and chase and sleep. Loved knowing him through your posts. Great friend and companion.

Leave a Reply

