The 30-60-90, or The Year of the Cake

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

First, I promise this post will be more up beat. And even though it’s past news, lets just say this post seems pertinent, to me at least.

In this family, last year was one of milestones. The odometer clicked to the big numbers on Justin’s, Dad’s, and my life-gauges. So, we had a couple of parties and I made cakes all year long. My daughter’s friend got married in September, and I offered to make her a wedding cake, only she didn’t really want a wedding cake. She wanted cupcakes. And, it was a tea party reception. So…..I chose to practice, and practice, and practice some more. And, since I have wanted to put all the pictures on the same page, here is a little trip down memory lane, of last year’s cake baking and fondant flower making extravaganza.

I started my practice session with home-made marshmallows.  They are Dad’s favorite, and Easter doesn’t happen without them.

My father, the German, doesn't like chocolate.  It is a mystery to me, as I LOVE chocolate.  Hence, some marshmallows are covered in chocolate and some in "white chocolate."

My father, the German, doesn’t like chocolate. This is a mystery to me, as I LOVE chocolate. Hence, some marshmallows are covered in chocolate and some in “white chocolate.”

Yes, they are fondant flowers.  The beginning of the practice session.

Yes, they are fondant flowers. The beginning of the practice session.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To quote my dear Son, “Mother’s Day Cake?  Hells yeah.”

More fondant flowers.......

More fondant flowers…….

My friend’s daughter was getting married and her mom was throwing the shower.  I made the cake.

IMG_4267

Dad’s Birthday was the beginning of the celebration of the “30-60-90.”  We had a great party with friends that Dad hadn’t seen in some time.

Raspberry Champagne cake covered with fondant.

Raspberry Champagne cake covered with fondant and a fondant peony.

Lemon cake with lemon frosting.

Lemon cake with lemon frosting and fondant flowers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dad's favorite:  Angel Food Cake with Seven-Minute Frosting.  (It got a little "wilty" in the heat, but no one seemed to mind)

Dad’s favorite: Angel Food Cake with Seven-Minute Frosting. (It got a little “wilty” in the heat, but no one seemed to mind)

Flowers, because I couldn't resist.....it was fun to have my own "Pinterest" moment.

Flowers, because I couldn’t resist…..I think of it as my own “Pinterest” moment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The whole fam-damily minus Craig.

The whole fam-damily minus Craig.

Craig’s birthday.  Hint:  We had cake.

Birthday lunch at Aiberto's Taco Shop.  (We like Mexican food......Dad stayed home.  He doesn't like Mexican food.)

Birthday lunch at Aiberto’s Taco Shop. (We like Mexican food……Dad stayed home. He doesn’t like Mexican food.)

Chocolate cake with raspberry filling.

Chocolate cake with raspberry filling.  Even the lawn gnome has his eye on it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My friend had a birthday, and we enjoyed a slice of cake and a good chat.

IMG_4683

And then, it was wedding time!

Packed in the trunk and ready to go.

Packed in the trunk and ready to go.

The cup cakes

The cup cakes

The cake!

The cake!

Close up of the fondant peony.

Close up of the fondant peony.

The cake table with the cup cakes and the cake!

The cake table with the cup cakes and the cake!

Kailin’s Birthday, which happened to be the day after the wedding.

The "official" name for this is a "De-constructed cake."  I guess it's a "thing."  It's also not too difficult to do.  Maybe that's what makes it popular?  It was an apple cake with buttercream frosting.

The “official” name for this is a “De-constructed cake.” I guess it’s a “thing.” It’s also not too difficult to do. Maybe that’s what makes it popular? It was an apple cake with buttercream frosting.

Another friend celebrated a birthday.

A lot of frosting.......truly, probably too much frosting.

A lot of frosting…….truly, probably too much frosting.

“The 30,” or Justin’s 30th Birthday.  We took the cake to him and had a party at his bike shop.

The whole family!

The whole family!

The cake!

The cake!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My friends Grandson’s birthday was the day before mine, so of course, he needed a cake!

Leaves and a purchased car to play with later!

Leaves and a purchased car to play with later!

Wrapping up the year was my birthday.  I was forbidden from making my own cake.  Justin brought a cake to the farm, made by a professional baker friend of his and unfortunately, I didn’t get a photo.  It was beautiful.  But I do have this from the big day.

Many, many, many years ago, Dad made this sign for my birthday.  He has hung it in the family room EVERY YEAR, and this one was no exception.  A blast from my past.

Many, many, many years ago, Dad made this sign for my birthday. He has hung it in the family room EVERY YEAR, and this one was no exception. A blast from my past.

And not a cake, but after a year of cakes, this was what I called, “the many moods of the Christmas Season.”

IMG_0430The year of the cake, or perhaps more appropriately, the year of the MANY cakes, came to an end.  Every once in a while, I think it’s a good idea to hone your skills.  In the end, it makes you fearless…..and tired……but mostly fearless.

This year's marshmallows...Happy Easter!

This year’s marshmallows…Happy Easter!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The 30-60-90, or The Year of the Cake

  1. winky colm says:

    oh my gosh your cakes are gorgeous and I know they taste great

  2. Linda says:

    You are a lady of many talents. Your cakes are as lovely as any I have ever seen

Leave a Reply

