When Your Only Tool Is A Hammer, Everything Looks Like A Nail

 

IMG_3510

Fabric “staining” with flower pounding.  Bougainvillea and “daisy’s” from the desert

Thursday, February 4, 2016

 

Every Monday afternoon the women of the park’s Craft Room have a meeting that is referred to as “Show and Tell.” The ladies, (and I say “ladies” as nine times out nine, the attendees are all women) gather and talk about up coming classes offered through the Craft Room and those who are willing, show what they are doing with their hands and their time. I usually sit and listen, and don’t offer up too much.   My time is pretty well occupied with other things so it feels to me like I don’t have much I can offer.

However, early on I took several of my pounded flower Prayer Flags from last summer to “show and tell” them. I wasn’t prepared for what happened next. There was a LOT of interest. I ended up “teaching” a class on how to pound flowers with a hammer, leaving a stain and impression on the fabric. There really aren’t any tricks to making these, so I estimated the class would take about 15 minutes IF I did a fair amount of talking.

IMG_3449

This is what you get when you pound flowers.

Also, I had my concerns about this project and how well it would work down here in the middle of the desert. It’s a gross understatement to say this is a dry area. If luck is in its corner, this valley receives a couple of inches of rain per year. In other words, there isn’t much that has enough liquid in its veins to yield even a tiny amount of color. So, prior to the class, I gathered the juiciest looking leaves I could find. I had done my own experimentation, which gave me a couple of options. There were a few flowers including the wonderfully red bougainvillea and a little yellow flower reminiscent of a daisy. I had asked my ladies to also bring foliage, flowers, and a hammer.

IMG_3504

Bougainvillea

We had a blast! We sat on the sidewalk and pounded our troubles away. An hour and a half and several yards of material later, we decided we’d had enough fun. We cleaned up our mess and went our separate ways. The plant life we all brought gave us beautiful results and wielding a hammer seemed to be as therapeutic for them as it has been for me.

IMG_3514

The Daisie’s personal prayer.  Our love is with you and Herb.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Your Only Tool Is A Hammer, Everything Looks Like A Nail

  1. Oh Jan, we’ve just seen this. How beautiful and thoughtful.
    We’re receivig lots of comfort from so many people with their beautiful messages.
    Peace at present is taking a little longer, but it will come. I guess it just takes a bit more time to process and come to terms with the ineviitable. We’ll see what Thursday’s appointments bring.

  2. msdaisie says:

    Thinking of you both and praying for a miracle. Love you!

Leave a Reply

