This Is What Democracy Looks Like

img_0489

Feet on the ground

Note: This is a “Troll-Free Zone,” and here is what I mean by that: Some may view this post as being political in nature, and if this seems like it may be offensive to you, then please don’t read any further. This is my personal blog, these are my personal views, and I ask that you respect this.

Sunday, January 22, 2017

“Be the change you wish to see in the world.” Ghandi

img_0611

Yes, I am currently residing in the desert in the middle of nowhere, but this weekend I left our little exiled paradise and went to Portland, Oregon to be with my daughter and my son. It was a journey of a thousand miles, and the single step that started it all occurred sometime back in December, with the advent of the Women’s March on Washington DC. My daughter and I very briefly discussed attending, but quickly abandoned that idea, as the logistics seemed somewhat insurmountable for both of us. Portland was one of the earlier cities to join forces with a sister march, and the dye was cast. I bought my ticket home. We would march together, my daughter and I. Sadly, my son had to work and wasn’t able to physically join us. He was with us in spirit.

The Portland Women’s March was expected to draw 30,000 people, which in and of itself is quite a remarkable feat. We were, in fact, 100,000 strong. ONE HUNDRED THOUSAND people joined together in a peaceful, unanimous voice. And, in case you missed the news, this march was one of hundreds of such events around the globe. It is estimated that well over TWO MILLION people participated.

 

It was the experience of a lifetime. People lined the bridges with signs, flags, and cheers. They hung out of parking garages. They lined the streets. To be surrounded and supported and to know I wasn’t alone, nor was my daughter alone, was perhaps the most humbling, empowering, and uplifting experience of my life. We chanted, we sang, we laughed, we cried.

img_0514

We marched with our friends, Debra and her daughter Sarah

There were so many families who brought their children; it was impossible to look into those young eyes and not be moved.

img_0518

img_0540

img_0503

There were women older than me, some in wheelchairs, walkers, or scooters that traveled the march route. The resolve, conviction, and POWER in the shear numbers was overwhelming. We were on that day, and on every day that follows, one voice that cannot be silenced. Because we are love, and love conquers hate.

img_0539

img_0584

This day marked the beginning of our uphill battle to save the things we hold dear. These “things” were quite evident by the variety of signs. Women’s reproductive rights were certainly in the forefront, as were the issues surrounding the environment, kindness, water, black lives, health care, and LGBTQ rights. What is important in the days ahead is not necessarily the selective focus on one issue, but the ability for us to divvy up the tasks and focus on the area that best suits our strengths and abilities. We can do this. We have fought these battles before.   Let’s vow to make this the last time. It is the gift I wish to leave for my daughter and son, and all those who come after me.

 

img_0507

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Is What Democracy Looks Like

  1. John Macy says:

    So glad you were able to attend. Thank you for the first-hand report. It is moving and much needed in our world today. Enjoy a fritter for me!

  2. msdaisie says:

    Thanks John! It was unbelievable and so empowering! And yes, I’ve been thinking about those donuts and fritters. I’m thinking we might need to go to the hardware store….oh wait…..donuts are next door! Hope to see you and Karen this season?!

Leave a Reply

